The Upcoming 5th Edition of the PMBOK Guide—5 New Processes


The 4th Edition of the PMBOK Guide had a total of 42 processes, spread across 5 process groups and 9 knowledge areas. The 5th Edition of the PMBOK Guide increases the total number of processes to 47, spread across 5 process groups and 10 knowledge areas. The post from yesterday (10/16) described the new knowledge area called Stakeholder Management. This post will discuss the 5 new processes and what they tell us about current trends in PMI’s thinking towards project management.

1. Two New Processes—Stakeholder Management

Two of the five new processes were added to the new Stakeholder Management knowledge area, which will be section 13 of the PMBOK Guide, where sections 4 through 12 contain the other 9 knowledge areas. The two new processes are listed in the chart below and are highlighted in YELLOW. The other two processes in the chart were moved from the Communications Management knowledge area into the Stakeholder Management knowledge area for the purpose of the 5th Edition PMBOK Guide.





Process Description
Initiating 13.1 Identify Stakeholders Identifying project stakeholders, that is, people impacted by the project, and documenting their interests, involvement, and impact on the project.


Planning 13.2 Plan Stakeholder Management Determining the needs of project stakeholders and defining methods of satisfying those needs.
Executing 13.3 Manage Stakeholder Engagement  

Build and maintain stakeholder engagement throughout project to maximize buy-in and minimize conflict.


Monitoring & Controlling 13.4 Control Stakeholders Engagement Manage any changes that are requested by stakeholders.

The significance of these two new processes are that stakeholder management needs to be addressed throughout the project, with the only process group not being represented being the Closing process group. Notice that the last two processes in the table refer to stakeholder engagement, which means not just communication, but addressing their concerns and managing any suggestions they have for scope changes in order to prevent scope creep and yet maintain their satisfaction with the project.

2. Three New Processes—Master Planning

There are three new processes devoted towards planning in the scope, cost, and time (schedule) management knowledge areas. Why did PMI add these? Wasn’t planning being done in these areas before? Well, to illustrate why PMI is making the change, let’s have a little quiz. Under the 4th Edition PMBOK Guide, in which cost management process is the cost management plan developed:

  1. Estimate Costs
  2. Determine Budget
  3. Control Costs
  4. None of the above

The surprising answer is: D, none of the above. The cost management plan is actually developed as part of the overall project management plan in the integration knowledge area process 4.2 Develop Project Management Plan.   So the very first cost management process listed, Estimate Costs, already assumes that the cost management plan has been completed.  In a similar way, the scope management plan and the cost management plan are also subsidiary plans of the overall Project Management Plan in the 4th Edition PMBOK Guide.

PMI felt that it was important that every knowledge area be given its own separate planning process.





Process Description
Planning 5.1 Plan Scope Management Create Scope Management Plan
Planning 6.1 Plan Schedule Management Create Schedule Management Plan
Planning 7.1 Plan Cost Management Create Cost Management Plan

Just as in the 4th Edition, the Scope Management Plan, Schedule Management Plan, and the Cost Management Plan will be created separately and then integrated in the master planning plan, the Project Management Plan. However, in the 5th Edition, these plans will be considered to have been created by a separate process in the appropriate knowledge area. The other knowledge areas already had their own planning processes, so that makes the processes most consistent across the knowledge areas, which is what PMI apparently intended.

The next post will discuss more of the “consistency” theme by discussing how the 47 processes are named in a more consistent way.   This should make it easier for those trying to understand and memorize those processes.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: